Speakers

Uzoma Asagwara.jpg

KEYNOTE SPEAKER
Uzoma Asagwara

Uzoma Asagwara is a Registered Psychiatric Nurse, former member of the Canadian National basketball team and recently made history as the first Black, Queer, Gender Non-Conforming person elected to the Manitoba Legislative Assembly and across Canada. They are the creator of QPOC Winnipeg, an initiative that creates safer spaces for and positive visibility and representation of Two-Spirit, Queer and Trans Black/Indigenous/People of Colour.  Uzoma has been a long-time advocate alongside newcomer and refugee communities, youth and grassroots organizations. Uzoma previously worked in youth addictions and acute adult mental health for over 10 years, is an Addictions Specialist and is a passionate supporter of the arts, having served on that board of directors for The Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art.

KEYNOTE SPEAKER 
Bibiane
Courtois

This remarkable woman has distinguished herself in the practice of her nursing profession by developing and implementing health programs adapted to the needs of First Nations and Inuit communities. In 1998, the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec awarded her its highest distinction, the Medal of Merit. Ms. Courtois is the first Indigenous woman to serve on the Human Rights Commission and the Council on the Status of Women. With determination, she led the actions leading to the amendments to the Indian Act (Bill C-31), while she was president of Quebec Native Women.

Bibiane%20courtois_edited.jpg
Maria Marques.jpg

Nursing Specializations:

Moderator

Maria Marques

With 27 years of progressive experience in the health-care system, Maria Marques, RN, BA, MPA has worked in different domains of nursing including clinical practice, teaching and management. As of December 4th, 2017, Marie accepted a position as Program Lead for the Credentialing Centre at the Canadian Nurses Association.

Nursing Specializations:
Panelist
  

Aileen 
Hol
land

Aileen Holland RN, ENC(C) has been an emergency room nurse at the Jewish General Hospital for almost 13 years. She has been a CNA emergency certified nurse since 2014 and has completed a forensic nursing certificate at Pennsylvania State University in 2016. She has volunteered at the Montreal Sexual Assault Centre. She also teaches nurses, medical students, residents, and staff physicians in an effort to maximize everyone’s knowledge base regarding best practice and trauma-informed care for victims of sexual assault and she has presented at the 2018 conference of the International Association of Forensic Nurses. She is an advocate for victims of sexual assault and for the recognition of forensic nursing and all other specialties in the province of Quebec.

Aileen Holland.jpg
Sonia Boccardi.PNG

Nursing Specializations: 
Panelist
 

Sonia Boccardi

Sonia Boccardi has been a nurse at the Jewish General Hospital’s (JGH) since 1998, and a member of the nursing leadership team since 2007 in the role of Clinical Nurse Specialist/Conseillère cadre en soins infirmiers, for the division of surgery as well as for in-patient rehabilitation at the Catherine Booth Hospital.  She holds an appointment as a part-time Faculty Lecturer at McGill University’s Ingram School of Nursing.  She co-leads a number of quality and safety improvement initiatives within the CIUSSS Centre-Ouest. She went on to be one of 2 SNCT trainers for the provincial nurse-ratio project in 2018. She currently is the Quebec representative for the Clinical Nurse Specialist Association of Canada since 2016.

Nursing Specializations:
Panelist
  

Terry Broda

Terry Broda, RN, MSc, NPPC, CDDN has been providing nursing care to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) for almost 30 years. She is one of the first few nurses in Canada to obtain certification from the Developmental Disabilities Nurses Association (www.ddna.org) and is a past President of this association. While studying to complete the Nurse Practitioner program, she worked in two remote First Nations communities in Quebec: Rapid Lake & Winneway. Terry is currently a clinical instructor at the Ingram School of Nursing, at McGill University, where she began teaching in 2009 and has also taught for 17 years in the various Nursing programs offered at John Abbott College. As an author, Terry has contributed to several publications, including articles in the I/DD special interest volume of the Canadian Family Physician journal, in April 2018, which also highlight the 2018 updated Canadian Consensus Guidelines on Primary Care of Adults with I/DD. 

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette Clermont (Moderat

Nursing and the Environment:

Moderator

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette-Clermont

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette Clermont first completed a B.A. at McGill University in Social Sciences of Medicine, Political Science and Psychology in 2016, before undertaking her Bachelor of Nursing at the Université de Montréal. Since then, she has carried out several work mandates with populations from diverse backgrounds, both in Quebec and abroad, in the fields of health, women's rights and first nations rights. In 2019, she co-founded the Quebec Nursing Students’ Association (QNSA), which aims to defend the interests and promote the political presence of the next generation of nurses in the public sphere.

Nursing and the Environment:
Panelist   

Fiona HAnley

Fiona Hanley has been a strong advocate for environmental health for many years and has championed the vital role nurses can play in environmental and climate health. She has lectured at numerous conferences in Canada, the United States and France. Fiona is also a member of the OIIQ climate committee, the CNA board of directors, vice-president of Synergie Santé Environnement and a member of the La Planète s’invitie en santé Coalition.

FionaHanley.jpg

Nursing and the Environment:
Panelist 

Hilah Silver

Hilah Silver is a maternity nurse since 2017 she has also been active with Extinction Rebellion Santé for a year and a half. Extinction Rebellion is a global movement that uses non-violent civil disobedience in an attempt to halt mass extinction and minimize the risk of social collapse.
For more information on Extinction Rebellion in Quebec see: 
https://extinctionrebellion.ca/quebec/en/

For more information on Extinction Rebellion and Healthcare see: https://www.doctorsforxr.com/

Nursing and the Environment:
Panelist  

Vanessa
D'Aquila

Vanessa D’Aquila, RN, MScN (c) is currently working as a Registered Nurse Clinician on a Pediatric Intensive Care unit (PICU) setting, while pursuing her Masters of Science (Applied) in Nursing Service Administration. She will describe her work in creating a Green team on her unit, and the inspiration this has given to other nurses and health professionals in making real steps to reduce the climate impact in their hospital. Primary goals of the PICU Green Team are to promote less waste consumption, and establish sustainable recycling initiatives. Her message: You too can find opportunities to promote greener practices in your work environments!

Vanessa D_Aquila.jpg
Mélyna_Désy_(Moderator_Panel_3).png
Mélyna_Désy_(Moderator_Panel_3).png

The Code of Silence in Healthcare:
Moderator


Mélyna DésY-Bedard

Mélyna Désy Bédard holds a BScN and has been practicing nursing care for 10 years, mainly with the Aboriginal communities of northern Québec and Nunavik. She has worked in an extended role, in aeromedical evacuation and in mental health rehabilitation in these different communities. She now works in a detention center in Trois-Rivières. She is interested in working conditions and the work-life balance of nurses. In particular, she participated in several projects and demonstrated advocacy on numerous occasions in this regard.

The Code of Silence in Healthcare:
Panelist

Marie-Anne Goupil 

A colorful Acadian with a hardy voice who, for decades, has been claiming her rights without yielding to the law of silence. As turbulent as a boat on the high seas, Marie-Anne Goupil will share her journey, her ways of doing things and the reasons that still push her to keep employers accountable.

 

A word is good, but a warm voice is better.

Marie-Anne Goupil.jpg
Amélie Perron.jpg

The Code of Silence in Healthcare:
Panelist
Amélie 
Perron

Amélie Perron is a registered nurse in Quebec and Ontario and a professor of nursing at the University of Ottawa. In recent years, she has been more explicitly interested in the capacity for action and political mobilization of nurses and their multiple loyalties which can give rise to resistant practices and acts of denunciation. In the fall of 2017, she co-founded the Nursing Observatory with Dr. Marilou Gagnon, the only observatory in the world interested in the analysis of contemporary issues affecting nurses. The Observatory's first thematic dossier is nursing denunciation, its practices and its role in the health system.

The Code of Silence in Healthcare: 
Panelist


Caroline

Dufour

Caroline Dufour is an assistant head nurse in the emergency department of the Gatineau hospital and an administrator of the Quebec Nurses’ Association. She holds a master's degree from the University of Ottawa. She actively campaigns for the improvement of the working conditions of nurses and the abolition of organizational violence within the Quebec healthcare system. In particular, she participated in the writing of several articles aimed at advocating nursing autonomy and denouncing the law of silence in healthcare. She is one of the instigators of the "Black Book of Outaouais emergencies" and of the town hall on care in the Outaouais titled: "Let's talk, denounce, act". 

© 2020 by the Quebec Nurses' Association

Conférenciers

Uzoma Asagwara.jpg

Grand conférencier
Uzoma Asagwara

Uzoma Asagwara, inf. clin., MLA Manitoba a complété ses études en sciences infirmières et pratique en psychiatrie. Elle  a été membre de l'équipe nationale canadienne de basketball et est récemment entrée dans l'histoire en tant que première personne noire, queer et non binaire élue à l'Assemblée législative à travers le Canada. Uzoma Asagwara a fondé QPOC Winnipeg, une initiative qui crée des espaces plus inclusifs et sécuritaires, ainsi qu’une visibilité et une représentation positives des personnes bispirituelles, queer et trans, noires / autochtones / personnes de couleur. Uzoma a milité aux côtés des communautés de nouveaux arrivants et de réfugiés, des jeunes et des organisations communautaires.
 

Grand conférencier
Bibiane
Courtois

Cette femme remarquable et chaleureuse s’est démarquée dans l’exercice de sa profession d’infirmière par le développement et l’application des programmes de santé adaptés aux besoins des communautés autochtones. En 1998, l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec lui a décerné sa plus haute distinction, soit l’Insigne du mérite. Mme Courtois est la première femme autochtone à siéger à la Commission des droits de la personne et au Conseil du statut de la femme. Avec détermination, elle conduit les actions menant aux amendements de la Loi sur les Indiens (Bill C-31), alors qu’elle était présidente de Femmes Autochtones du Québec. 

Bibiane%20courtois_edited.jpg
Maria Marques.jpg

Les spécialisations infirmières:

modératrice 

Maria Marques

Comptant 27 ans d’expérience progressive au sein du système de soins de santé, Maria Marques, inf. clin., BA, MPA a travaillé dans plusieurs domaines des soins infirmiers ce qui inclut la pratique clinique, l'enseignement et la gestion. En date du 4 décembre 2017, Marie a accepté un poste en tant que responsable de programme pour le centre d’accréditation de l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada.

Les spécialisations infirmières:

panelliste   

Aileen 
Hol
land

Aileen Holland, inf. clin., ENC (C) pratique en tant qu’infirmière auprès de l’urgence de l’Hôpital général juif (HGJ) depuis presque 13 ans. En 2014, elle est certifiée en soins infirmiers d’urgence par l’Association des infirmières et des infirmiers du Canada (AIIC) et, en 2016, elle a aussi obtenu un certificat en soins infirmiers médico-légaux de Pennsylvania State University. Elle a été bénévole auprès du Centre pour les victimes d’agression sexuelle de Montréal (CVASM) et à participer comme conférencière invitée au McGill Emergency Medicine Grand Rounds. Elle est membre de l'ENA, du CFNA et de l'IAFN et elle siège au sein du sous-comité de gestion des antimicrobiens de l'HGJ. Elle milite pour les victimes d'agression sexuelle, pour la reconnaissance des soins infirmiers médico-légaux ainsi que pour celle de toutes les autres spécialités de la province de Québec.

Aileen Holland.jpg
Sonia Boccardi.PNG

Les spécialisations infirmières:

panelliste   

Sonia Boccardi

Sonia Boccardi, inf. clin., MScN, CCNC (C) est infirmière à l'Hôpital général juif (HGJ) depuis 1998 et elle est membre de l'équipe de direction des soins infirmiers depuis 2007 dans le rôle de conseillère cadre en soins infirmiers pour le domaine de la chirurgie ainsi que pour celui de la réadaptation des patients hospitalisés au sein de l'hôpital Catherine Booth. De plus, elle occupe un poste de chargée de cours à temps partiel à l’Ingram School of Nursing de l’Université McGill. Madame Boccardi a été l'une des deux formatrices SNCT pour le projet provincial de ratio-infirmier en 2018. Elle a fait partie, en 2012, du comité de développement des compétences pour l'examen de certification en périanesthésie de l’Association des infirmières et des infirmiers du Canada (AIIC). Elle est, depuis 2016, la représentante du Québec auprès de l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers cliniciens spécialisées du Canada.

Les spécialisations infirmières:

panelliste  

Terry Broda

Terry Broda, inf. clin., MScN, IPSPL, CDDN a prodigué des soins infirmiers aux personnes ayant des déficiences intellectuelles et développementales (I/DD) depuis près de 30 ans. Elle est une des premières infirmières au Canada à avoir obtenu la certification de Developmental Disabilities Nurses Association (www.ddna.org), association dont elle fût présidente par la suite. Après avoir complété un DEC en soins infirmiers au John Abbott College (JAC), elle a travaillé à l’Hôpital neurologique de Montréal et à l’Hôpital Douglas, avant de se diriger vers l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne. Pendant qu’elle complétait ses études pour devenir infirmière praticienne, elle a travaillé dans deux communautés éloignées des Premières Nations au Québec: Rapid Lake et Winneway. En tant qu'auteur, Terry a contribué à plusieurs publications dont des articles dans la publication d’avril 2018, d'intérêt spécial I/DD, de la revue Le Médecin de Famille Canadien, qui met aussi en évidence les Lignes directrices consensuelles canadiennes, mises à jour en 2018, sur les soins primaires aux adultes ayant des déficiences intellectuelles et développementales (I/DD). 

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette Clermont (Moderat

Les infirmières et l'environnement :

modératrice

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette-Clermont

Audrey-Ann Bissonnette Clermont a d’abord complété un B.A. à l’Université McGill en sciences sociales de la médecine, sciences politiques et psychologie en 2016, avant d’entreprendre son Baccalauréat en Sciences infirmières à l’Université de Montréal. Depuis, elle a effectué plusieurs mandats de travail auprès de populations issues d’horizons pluriels, tant au Québec qu’à l’étranger, dans les domaines de la santé, des droits des femmes et des autochtones. En 2019, elle a participé à co-fonder l’Association étudiante en sciences infirmières du Québec (AÉSIQ), qui a pour objectifs de défendre les intérêts et favoriser la présence politique de la relève infirmière dans la sphère publique.

Les infirmières et l'environnement : panelliste   
Fiona HAnley

Fiona Hanley, inf. clin., MSc est un ardente défenderesse de la santé environnementale depuis de nombreuses années et a fait la promotion du rôle vital que les infirmières peuvent jouer dans la santé environnementale et climatique. Elle a présenté des exposés à de nombreuses conférences au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Fiona est aussi membre du comité climat de l’OIIQ, du conseil d'administration de l'AIIC, vice-présidente de Synergie Santé Environnement et membre de la Coalition La Planète s'invite en santé

FionaHanley.jpg

Les infirmières et l'environnement :panelliste 
Hilah Silver

Hilah Silver est infirmière en maternité depuis 2017 et elle est aussi active auprès du mouvement Extinction Rébellion (XR) Santé depuis un an et demi. Extinction Rebellion est un mouvement international qui utilise des moyens de désobéissance civile, sans violence, pour tenter d’arrêter l'extinction de masse et afin de minimiser le risque d'un effondrement social.
 Pour de plus amples informations sur Extinction Rébellion (XR) au Québec :
https://extinctionrebellion.ca/quebec/
 Pour de plus amples informations sur XR et le domaine de la santé :
https://www.doctorsforxr.com/

Les infirmières et l'environnement : panelliste   
Vanessa
D'Aquila

Vanessa D’Aquila, inf. clin., MSc (c) travaille présentement comme infirmière clinicienne sur une unité de soins intensifs pédiatriques, tout en poursuivant une maîtrise en sciences (appliquées) en administration des services infirmiers. Lors de sa présentation, elle décrira son processus pour développer l’Équipe Verte auprès de son unité de travail et l'inspiration que cela a donné à d'autres infirmières et professionnels de la santé de son milieu pour développer des mesures concrètes pour réduire l'impact climatique de leur hôpital. Son message: Vous pouvez également trouver des opportunités pour promouvoir de meilleures pratiques écologiques dans vos environnements de travail!

Vanessa D_Aquila.jpg
Mélyna_Désy_(Moderator_Panel_3).png
Mélyna_Désy_(Moderator_Panel_3).png

L'omerta en santé: panelliste
Mélyna DésY-Bedard

Mélyna Désy Bédard est finissante au Baccalauréat en Sciences Infirmières et pratique les soins infirmiers depuis 10 ans, principalement auprès des communautés Autochtones du Nord-du-Québec et du Nunavik. Elle a notamment travaillé en rôle élargi, en évacuation aéromédicale et en réadaptation en santé mentale dans ces différentes communautés. Elle oeuvre maintenant en Établissement de détention à Trois-Rivières. Elle s’intéresse aux conditions de travail et à la conciliation travail-vie personnelle des infirmières. Elle croit fermement que ces conditions sont intimement et directement liées aux soins administrés aux patients et cherche à agir en amont pour améliorer les conditions d’hospitalisation. 

L'omerta en santé: panelliste
Marie-Anne Goupil 

Une Acadienne colorée avec une voix portante qui, depuis des décennies, revendique ses droits sans plier devant la loi du silence.   Aussi houleuse qu'un bateau en haute mer, Marie-Anne Goupil partagera son cheminement,  ses façons de faire et les raisons qui la pousse encore à faire pâlir les employeurs.  Une parole c'est bien mais une voix bien réchauffée est mieux.

Marie-Anne Goupil.jpg
Amélie Perron.jpg

L'omerta en santé: panelliste
Amélie 
Perron

Amélie Perron, inf. clin., PhD est infirmière licenciée au Québec et en Ontario et professeure en sciences infirmière à l’Université d’Ottawa. Ses analyses touchent toujours aux dimensions éthiques et politiques de la pratique infirmière, notamment en contextes de soins sensibles et contraignants. Depuis quelques années, elle s’intéresse plus explicitement à la capacité d’action et de mobilisation politique du personnel infirmier et à ses loyautés multiples qui peuvent donner lieu à des pratiques résistantes et des actes de dénonciation. À l’automne 2017, elle a co-fondé l’Observatoire infirmier avec Dre Marilou Gagnon, le seul observatoire au monde s’intéressant à l’analyse d’enjeux contemporains qui affectent le personnel infirmier. Le premier dossier thématique de l’Observatoire est la dénonciation infirmière, ses pratiques et son rôle dans le système de santé.

L'omerta en santé: panelliste
Caroline

Dufour

Caroline Dufour est assistante clinicienne infirmière chef à l’urgence de l’hôpital de Gatineau et administratrice de l’Association québécoise des infirmières et infirmiers. Diplômée à la maîtrise de l’Université d’Ottawa en 2017, elle est infirmière à l’urgence de Gatineau depuis 6 ans. Elle milite activement pour l’amélioration des conditions de travail des infirmières et l’abolition de la violence organisationnelle au sein du système de santé québécois. Elle a notamment participé à la rédaction de plusieurs articles visant à prôner l’autonomie infirmière et à dénoncer la loi du silence en santé. Elle est l’une des instigatrices du « Livre noir des urgences de l’Outaouais » et des États Généraux des soins en Outaouais : « Parlons, dénonçons, agissons ». Cette année encore, elle a fait partie du mouvement de dénonciation en Outaouais en réclamant l’instauration des ratios infirmières-patients.

©2020 l'Association Québécoise des Infirmières et Infirmiers